Daily Archives: October 30, 2011

A New Toy

So I saw the patch notes for the next EvE Patch and decided to fiddle around with a Daredevil because I’ve always liked the ship.  Rails were the first T2 guns I ever had so I went with a slightly unorthodox fit just for the lulz value.

[Daredevil, AB Rail Daredevil]

2x 150mm Railgun II (Spike S)

Fleeting Propulsion Inhibitor I
Faint Warp Disruptor I
Gistii B-Type 1MN MicroWarpdrive

2x Overdrive Injector System II
Damage Control II
Magnetic Field Stabilizer II

Small Hybrid Locus Coordinator I
2x Small Polycarbon Engine Housing I

It Turns Heads

Not a dominating fit at all. 178 DPS at 10,350+10,800, 4715 m/s but a BLAST to fly.

Speed tank of around 4000 m/s as I orbit at 14km and pound the bad guys with railgun DEATH.  I had a lot of fun with it tonight.  Got bored earlier, and pissed at a corpmate so I hopping in a thrasher and ganked the first retriever I came across.

http://tfhc.eve-kill.net/?a=kill_detail&kll_id=10913783

Then I went afk for a while, came back, noticed our alliance was short a corp and our fail wartargets were back to hugging stations after a good job beating the CRAP out of our guys last night to the tune of two Domis and an Armageddon Navy issue.  Still haven’t gotten the full report on that but yeah, not happy.  I drop into Palas, where I think I have never been before.  I ignore the bait Abaddon and find a Covetor in a belt.  Now I hate can-mining.  It’s a bad practice to use for making money, it draws attention from bad people (like me) and it doesn’t make that much money in the first place.  If you are looking for a “How to can-mine” guide let me set you straight.  Go to EvE-Survival.org , and start missioning.  You will thank me later, TRUST ME.

Anyway I flip his can, and get my orbit way out at a distance, he pulls his drones and warps off.  Le Sigh.  Orbit the cans for a while.  He comes back in a drake.  I’m in a rail fit Drake, looking at his toon.  Young.  Two months old.  Flies a covetor.  The Drake can’t be that good, lets try it out.  He starts shooting me with heavies.  Hurt a decent amount with my speed tank.  Signature bloom is a bitch I guess.  Even with my speed my shields were dropping more than I’d like.  Then I look at his shields.  Wow.  I still had to reload once to take him down, but I blew past his peak recharge like it wasn’t there.  Serious surprise.  He blows up, we trade GFs, I almost catch him coming back in his covetor.  I post the killmail.

WT Everloving F.

Again for new EvE players trying to figure out how to fit a Drake.  Don’t do that.  Fill the slots.  For the love of GOD.  So I head on out and about, finally ending up in a belt with a Retriever, a bunch of guys in the ret’s corp, and a million shuttles in the belt.  Looked like some attempt to game the rules somewhere.  I couldn’t figure out how but meh, drop shuttles off overview and flip.  He whines in local, his corpies respond in local, they all shut up for a while, finally the Retriever aggros.  Boom.  He warps off, comes back in a Cormorant, Boom.  Cormorant was actually tough, but the AC guns couldn’t reach me so I slowed down to get better tracking and he dropped like a fat kid running a marathon.

The Ret/Cormie pilot whined about me using cheat codes as my shields never even flinched against him.  *Sigh*  Knowledge is the most valuable commodity in EvE.  Understanding mechanics will save ships.  Failing to understand will cause rage and tears.

What about Major Kong?

CCP Marketing vs. Management vs. Community Relations. 3 Departments enter, 2 Leave.

CCP’s Marketing department knows what players like.

CCP’s Management doesn’t

CCP’s Community Relations gets the blame

Go ahead and look at the trailers on CCPs Youtube Channel.  Doesn’t that look like a fun game?  Wouldn’t you like to play it?  Well until recently no one was working on it.  Even now people aren’t 100% sold.  At least I’m not.  But CCP’s Marketing puts a real exciting face on it.

CCP’s Management is not 100% sold on EvE themselves.  They need to diversify their product line.  If something goes wrong with EvE they are fucked.  So they need to diversify.  They need to work on EvE.  They need to manage their money.  All of these work against each other.

This brings us to the whipping boys.  The CR team.  With no power to influence eve development, and forced to present players with the line that CCP’s Management wants them to go with they get to be the messenger all the time.

As players this affects us in many ways, and few of them are very good for the game the way CCP has been run since 2009.  Players come in with high expectations, get a rush of game issues, some are great and some aren’t, get bored, and leave.  For players that stick around, content they love doesn’t get iterated on and as issues accumulate and/or are exploited frustration builds and even positive changes to other aspects takes on a negative tone as it isn’t work on “your” issue.  No amount of work on wormholes or incursions will make faction warfare partisans happy, they want FW changes.

Now the marketing team has a mandate to bring people into EvE, and make the game look good to people outside the community.  What looks best?  INTERNET SPACESHIPS DOING NEAT STUFF!  So we get trailers like Dominion with a huge fleet fight, Butterfly Effect and Causality, with their “you can influence a universe (with spaceships)” theme, Tyrannis with the “Combat draws you in” theme, and Apocrypha with ships approaching wormholes.  Even the Incarna trailer features incursions and no mention of walking in stations.  Only the Future Visions trailer doesn’t focus on spaceship combat.

So Marketing gets to build up expectations as much as they can.  Management is trying to diversify to keep themselves employed in the event EvE implodes, where does this leave the messengers?  Explaining why high expectations aren’t being met.  So the old crew lost credibility in the summer of rage, and now the new system will get different treatment.

I'm using it every time I can

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 35 other followers