Daily Archives: January 31, 2012

His Name was Brian Flores

It seems pithy to write about the loss of a friend, and trusted comrade on an EvE blog.  There is a reason for it and it’s one I’m sure he wouldn’t mind.

Known as Hairlessharry to those he flew with, Brian was a loyal friend, a fierce enemy and a wise and judicious leader whose judgement was valued by everyone who knew him.  He opened his house to friends he had never met, offering them the comforts of his hearth and home.  I met him only twice in person, briefly both times, and probably spoke fewer than a hundred words to him other than over voice clients.  Yet I had a standing invitation to his house, and I was not alone in this.

So many of his friends only knew him by his moniker.  They didn’t know his face, barely knew his voice unless they’d been in leadership councils with him.  They knew him nonetheless.

He made few decisions, and took stands only in crucial matters.  I suspect many of us would have trouble finding a decision he made.  We trusted him nonetheless.

He would stand up for you, even against his dearest friends if you were right and they were wrong.  He had moral courage by the bucket, and integrity by the mile.

He scored his first kill in EvE in April of 2009 near as I can tell.  Losing a faction-fit Prophecy to kill a Cerberus.

He scored his last kill on January 8th of this year.  It was a doozy.

Brian was a good friend to all those lucky enough to call him so.  Harry was a fearsome foe to his enemies.  He is gone too soon from this life, and my heart aches for his family, for those close to him, and for those who will never get to know him.

Why do I write this here?  For his friends.  While I am sure we will have a memorial for him in-game for those who knew him only as Harry, I wanted his friends to know more about him outside the pod.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 35 other followers