Daily Archives: February 9, 2012

Hans JagerBlitzen has already lost my Votes

Yes, sergeant.  Without a fight.  This man can make water run uphill and he has a commander.  I love the idea of giving in without a fight.  I’ve fought for ten years and giving in without a fight is what I’ve always wanted to do.”

- Terry Pratchett, Jingo

With this quote Hans Jagerblitzen manages to show bigotry and ignorance all at once.

I’m going to give you my honest opinion here, though it will undoubtedly piss a few people off. I
consider predatory high sec war declarations to be one of the cheapest forms of PvP available in
the game. Truly hardcore PvP pilots move to low sec or null sec and seek out armed, skilled
opponents who present a genuine challenge in return. Picking on a weaker corp and attacking
them when you know they cannot fight back is some pretty unimpressive business. It’s not worth
glorifying, and I refuse to call this kind of non-consensual PvP one of the “defining features of EvE”
because there’s just so many cooler things you can do in the sandbox.

While I am all for wardec mechanics that end the shenanigans that have become so dominant in highsec I don’t want them to come from someone who considers the kind of PvP I enjoyed at first “Cheap.”  As I have said in the past bigotry towards one form of PvP or another does not become an EvE player.

In general if you get wardecced by someone like Suddenly Ninjas, or a while ago The Fancy Hats.  Or REALLY Back in the day TRAPS, you did something to call down the thunder.  Forming a corporation when you cannot defend yourself is a foolish act.  Foolishness in EvE come with a price.  In ISK.  Many corps get a pass because they are simply too small to worry about.  Some draw fire.  Mining ops with cans out and a dozen ships, huge expensive mission running battle ships with a 4 month old toon, mouthing off in local demonstrating nothing but your ignorance.  These people tend to get hit and tend to scream “Oh woe is me!”

Picking fights you know you can win is the core of PvP.  If you win all or most of your fights you will grow and enhance both your prestige and your wallet if you get enough sexy kills.  If you consistently show up and lose because you failed to plan, you can talk all you want about “goodfights” but no one is going to X up after a while.  In Highsec sometimes it’s clubbing baby seals, and sometimes it’s dealing with fighting on station against people with more RR on call than a good nullsec blobfest.

Fancy Hats is in the process of finding a new Low-Sec home.  We like the free-form fighting, we like knowing that we can shoot people without going through hoops.  Part of the reason we gave up on highsec long ago is the shenanigans with wardecs have overcome any possible enjoyment from them.  The solution to wardecs will undoubtedly be complex, however calling people names and pointing fingers doesn’t solve problems.  It creates them.  With this one paragraph Hans has toasted his chance with me.

You want to solve the problem Hans?  Instead of the EvE tutorial encouraging nooblets to start their own corp, have the tutorial explicitly state the vulnerabilities of a corporation and that many corps have pub rooms that they will let you join that will keep 2 and 3 week old players away from the mean old men of EvE.

I'm using it every time I can

Not Me for CSM 7

Every year I toy with the idea of running for CSM.  Every year I decide not to, mostly because I feel that I have practically no chance and I doubt the Army would be that supportive of all the free trips to Europe.  To butcher a Jewish saying:  Next year in Reykjavik (Holy cow I spelled that right the first time?) But I would like to share some of my thoughts on the issues I’d face and how I perceive the CSM.

The main issue would be the voice of Mad Haberdashers vs. the mask of Corelin.  Corelin is a highly specialized character whose activities limit his appeal, while Mad Haberdashers speaks to a wide audience comprising entire arenas of EvE and demographics to whom Corelin is an abhorrent monster.  A CSM seat is a very important, prestigious position requiring a candidate be able to demonstrate dedication, communication skills, intelligence, and values that will resonate with their voters simply to be elected.  Once elected a certain tenacity in beating the drum to get the message across to CCP becomes very important, as well as the mental fortitude to press on despite a lack of immediately visible results, even by EvE standards.

You will notice I didn’t say anything about leadership.  Leadership of a major faction in EvE will virtually guarantee you a seat on the CSM.  If you can get your minions to vote for you and there’s 5,000 of them you are goin’ to Iceland.  However the CSM is an advisory board, not a board of directors.  It has no executive power and not even much in the way of legislative power.  While the CSM is billed as a governing body of players, it has no powers to govern, and its function is not that of a governing body, but as advisors to the devs at CCP.  They help put out fires and attempt to steer CCP on the narrow track between increased profitability and customer satisfaction.

I look forward to seeing the candidates who show up.  I have probably already made my decision on who to vote for, although I would like to see some new blood and fresh fire in the CSM.  As a council I think they have evolved quite a bit and this CSM certainly has been the most popular, and has leveraged considerable power from both their activities over the summer of rage and from their positions at the head of mega-blocs within EvE.  Here’s to a fun election.

I'm using it every time I can

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 35 other followers