Daily Archives: April 14, 2012

Operation Bash Their Fucking Heads In

There’s a certain kind of playing to win that is all in a category of its own.  When your goal is conquest, not “goodfites” you are free to enter a whole new realm of un-subtle.  In most fights if you have overwhelming force you have to hide it to set up a hot drop.  Concealing your capability until you can use it against a foe trapped and committed to a fight.  When conquering or otherwise inflicting your will on your opponent you are free to escalate to a downright intimidating level of force.  Today The Mittani linked a picture of just this kind of force in action.

http://i.imgur.com/Gg4dD.jpg

Dayum.  He says its 175 dreads.  I am pretty sure the last time I saw that many in fleet I was in Cult of War fighting against Goons.  As he says

175 Dreads Have No Need for a Witty Tagline

And he’s right.  The hallmark of a serious player is the ability to use this kind of force at will.  99% of EvE alliances can’t countenance this kind of display on their best day.  When a campaign is on Goonswarm can probably bring this day in and day out, and they can escalate from this.  That’s what REALLY scare me.  How many supers were backing that fleet up?   What kind of support fleet was in the area?  That kind of display of power is simply amazing to me.

I worked in the S-3 shop in the Army.  Part of our job was planning.  Hell most of it was.  In Iraq we tended to go with “Overwhelming force plus some more” on any kind of mission where hostile activity was expected.  The balancing consideration was maintaining our operational tempo/readiness to react to other threats in our area of operations.  This kind of planning will get you blueballed from a lot of fights in EvE because not many people want to fight 175 dreads.  It will also conquer a lot of systems because not many people can fight 175 dreads.

The reason for the title of this post is a little… friction that develops from naming operations.  Officers tend to like names like “Operation Intrinsic Conflict” for a major operation (nonsense phrase that sounds glamorous) or “Operation Patriotic Eagle” (That’ll play well in the papers) or “Operation Dimaggio” (Last names that showed up on the rosters of the Red Sox and Yankees) whereas NCOs tend to go for “Operation Bash Their Fuckign Heads In” or “Sir while you were naming shit we did it”

One thing I admire about the EvE Community is that while they tend to get impressed with their own cleverness, people will call them on it.  Take Ripard Teg taking swings at every R&K video that comes out.  Me taking swings at Mittens Apology and raising my eyebrows at the results of the “Cultural Revolution” to date (really?  A net gain of 40 members in the last week?  Really trimming away the dead weight there) The kind of self-important thinking that comes up with “Operation Intrinsic Action” gets pilloried in EvE.  On the other hand go ahead and challenge Mittens to say that he wouldn’t be justified to call that fleet’s plan “Operation Bash Their Fucking Heads In”

I'm using it every time I can

Production Without Tools

Recently I re-entered the T2 production food chain.  It is wonderful having a friend with a fully set up POS with all the trimmings.

Right now any industrial process is a click fest.  There’s no “Remember these settings” button or “lock” button for certain fields.  Copying always defaults to “1 run, 1 copy” which isn’t really suitable to T2 module production.  Additionally it will show all kinds of research locations that will throw errors if I try to use them.  This results in every single job I want to do being an utter click fest.

CCP, Let us lock certain job settings for BPOs.  If I create a copy job for a BPO I just copied from, pop up the same settings.  Oh and if it’s in a POS array, select the array it’s in and don’t show me all the others it isn’t actually in.  That just bugs the crap out of me, especially if I’ve forgotten which one it’s actually in because I’m an idjit.

Still this is a pretty easy hill to climb.  Now I take the copies, go to invention.  Same problems.  Settings aren’t saved, particularly the basic item and decryptor (which I don’t use much for modules) as well as the location.  Fine I can click through all of these.  30 or 40 times a day.  More as I add more characters to the chain.

Seriously.  It’s a click fest.  The only upgrade I’ve ever seen has been the “refresh” button, which doesn’t work as frequently fields won’t populate correctly forcing me to use different arrays.  Again all this would be fine, but to produce around 100 of whatever it is I’m building I end up having to make around 20-25 BPCs, invent from them to get 10 T2 BPCs, and then go through the manufacturing process, which I do in a station making it somewhat simpler.  Now I’m making an item that is pretty common, shows up in a lot of fits, and 100 is a drop in the bucket, but if I take it to 200 or 300 I might start diluting the market.  Imagine doing something popular, 1400mm cannon, Mega Pulse lasers.  Things like that where your desired volume can be a LOT higher.  If you wanted to make more that’s a LOT more clicks.  That could drive a man further into madness.  Maybe even enough for people to notice the crazy.

CCP needs to improve the interface.  As awkward as the ship interface can be, it’s workable and there’s no need for it to scale.  The Industrialist UI needs to scale.  It needs to handle batch jobs, I should be able to select 5 BPCs, select a POS array that has room for all 5 and all the mats and select the settings in 1 go.  When I’m manufacturing I should be able to do the same for 10 in the station (or 11 for people that trained it all the way.)  These things shouldn’t be “Rocket Surgery” level fixes, even with CCPs problems with older “legacy” code being poorly documented.  Even if they are they need to happen.  Not this expansion, it’s getting Carebeary enough.  But it needs to be on the menu.

I'm using it every time I can

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 36 other followers