I’m Somebody.

No, not a Nike ad.  An enraged exclamation.

This is a little story about four people named Everybody, Somebody, Anybody, and Nobody.

There was an important job to be done and Everybody was sure that Somebody would do it.

Anybody could have done it, but Nobody did it.

Somebody got angry about that because it was Everybody’s job.

Everybody thought that Anybody could do it, but Nobody realized that Everybody wouldn’t do it.

It ended up that Everybody blamed Somebody when Nobody did what Anybody could have done

So we are planning a little surprise party over the weekend.  A lot of logistics will be involved, and there’s a lot of “Somebody needs to do this, Somebody needs to do that,”  I’m sure a lot of you know where THAT road leads.  I decided to shortcut all the garbage, I asked a friend to take care of the most important (i.e. expensive) part, while I took care of #2.

Far too often, in life and in EvE people will leave important tasks undone because “Somebody should have done it,”  well, I’m Somebody.  And I’m doing it.  So a piece of advice, if you, your corp/alliance/community is planning an event, and you start seeing “Somebody” pop up, ask who specifically is going to do it.  It’s kinda like “I need reps” in a logi fleet.  There’s no character named I in the fleet, there’s nobody in alliance named Somebody.  Get names.

I'm using it every time I can

About Corelin

An Eve playing Fool who occasionally writes about the shenanigans he and his minions get up to.

Posted on September 15, 2011, in Meta, Things I think I think. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

