Ethics? WTF is that?

So my new SW:TOR blog has a category that is conspicuously absent from this one.  Ethics.

Huh.

I’ve been doing this over a year now… and I don’t have an ethics category.  Kind of telling about EvE as a whole, especially given that morality, or a certain lack thereof, is a defining characteristic of the game and its players.

In EvE morality is assumed to be absent from anyone.  Indeed I won’t give much trust to anyone unless I can drive to their house and punch them in the face.  Even then it’s dicey.  In an MMO like SW:TOR I assume someone is going to act in my good interests because it is in their BEST interest to complete content smoothly.  In other words I can pick up random people, go into a dungeon or a PvP arena and fight it out without worrying too much about backstabbing because they get rewards for the same thing I get rewards for.

EvE is not like this.  In EvE you can make a lot more money a lot faster by hogging and acting selfishly in the short run.  Whether its joining a corp with the express intent of robbing it blind (why I like knowing where people live,) or even blowing up random haulers and taking their stuff, anti-social activities are highly profitable in EvE.  Certainly a steadier income is gained through income, but trust comes hard and ethics are much more rigorous in EvE.

I'm using it every time I can

About Corelin

An Eve playing Fool who occasionally writes about the shenanigans he and his minions get up to.

Posted on January 25, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

