THIS! This is what I was talking about!

So EN24 put up a story today, that would have been interpreted as part of it’s rather normal anti-goon bent and more or less chuckled at or ignored.

http://www.evenews24.com/2012/02/23/dirty-csm7-war-heat-up-in-the-twitters/

Look at the byline.  Well, now it’s something else.  It is political propaganda between The Mittani and Riverini because both are competing for CSM seats.  However their seats of power differ significantly.  Any news source has a duty to be open and transparent if not in their reporting, than in their bias.  I don’t have a problem with people who are biased one way or the other, it is when they attempt to be disingenuous about it that it bugs me.  At the end of the piece Riverini links the following bit of propoganda

http://www.whiteroseconventicle.com/politics/csm-7/1185-one-eve-one-vote-one-chairman.html

Now I myself am Jewish, and certainly am no great supporter of Mittani, but hyperbole tends to curve back on itself.  This is a case where a legitimate point is brought up not by someone offended on a deep, personal basis, in which case they’d have brought it up last year, or upon first encountering goonwaffe, but by a political opponent during the campaign season.  Nowhere in the article does Riverini give any disclaimer that he and Mittani are competitors for a CSM seat.

There is legitimacy to Mittens using an alliance he has helped to build and led to acquire a CSM seat.  He is open about it and even open that he will use that seat to better himself and the goons.  Riverini has built a news site for EvE.  I happen to think it’s a good one and I have even contributed in the past.  However to use it as a political tool for his own aggrandizement is fundamentally different from using an alliance.  It ruins the credibility of the site, especially when Riverini himself posts articles attacking other CSM candidates.  When he wasn’t a candidate they were merely part of his bias against the candidate, now they are attempts to raise his own flag.

Riverini is destroying his campaign, and the credibility of the site he has built.  I hope he stops this kind of attack, especially on an alleged news site.  I hope he withdraws from the campaign and uses his ability to create a news site to establish himself in a position as a respected source of information, not a screaming supporter/detractor buried in bias.

I'm using it every time I can

About Corelin

An Eve playing Fool who occasionally writes about the shenanigans he and his minions get up to.

Posted on February 23, 2012, in CSM Hijinks, I was RIGHT!, Politics. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Last comment before bed – I’m actually a fan of E24, not necessarily because of it’s accuracy (or lack thereof), but I admire any player that puts as much effort into the community as he’s done. That being said, I don’t really agree with his CSM run as I think, if he lands a seat, it has the potential to seriously de-rail what he’s put a lot of time into. Different people can affect EVE in different ways and I’d prefer Riverini to keep all of his attention on his site. I’ve told him as much and obviously he disagrees with me, but my opinion stands. v0v

Leave a Reply

