Convention This!

Hong WeiLoh at his blog, “Carebears with Claws” had a great post about “fixing” things.  One thing he points out that I really like is that we should base our suggestions on the lore of the game.  Ok.  So… wardecs.  Little skinny.  Well I see all these things about the Yulai Convention.  Oh C’mon.  Yer fuckin with me right?  Nada?

The lore and background of EvE is sadly lacking, I agree with Hong that we need to base suggestions on solid lore, but solid lore for wardecs is fundamentally lacking.  I don’t think we need the full document, but I think some effort by CCP to produce the largely relevant portions would be of immense value to players.  Right now when a war ends you get this

From: CONCORD
Sent: NEVAAAAAAAAAAR

The war between My Awesome Corp and Your Crappy Corp is coming to an end.  My Awesome Corp has retracted the war against Your Awesome Corp. The war will be declared as being over after approximately 24 hours.

The notice starting a wardec has even less.

CCP has thrown a large, heavy, rusty gauntlet on the floor for this summer.  To do wardecs right I think they need to make them make sense from start to finish, complete with working into the lore of the game why CONCORD with its highly punitive DED would just go out and allow corps to start bashing on each other in highsec.  Cassus Belli, bribes, something to start the process, goals, objectives, ways and means of stopping the wardec, all need to be not only presented in in-game mechanics, but as part of the EvE universe that includes trillions of people to go with the hundreds of thousands of capsuleers.

I'm using it every time I can

About Corelin

An Eve playing Fool who occasionally writes about the shenanigans he and his minions get up to.

Posted on March 11, 2012, in Things I think I think, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I got mentioned … *feels all glowy and special*
    Oh wait, that was just someone popping my ship.
    >;-D

    In all reality, Jester just hit on this too, with the “stealth sec status nerf” post, Pinky wrote about it as well…. these “arbitrary mechanics are arbitrary” changes are just… rage-worthy. Especially since they’re not even openly put in the patch notes.

    I think what tripped CCP up was in the beginning they envisioned that the “universe and story” would be the creation of the players, and to put too much “backstory” would somehow limit the sandbox.
    They thought incorrectly.
    The simplest way I can put it is they made a sandbox, and filled it…but sometimes it’s sand, sometimes it’s loose gravel, and sometimes it’s blocks of slate. You can do different things with those, but often-times it changes from beach sand to dust and then to slate very quickly and without warning or explanation.

    Thing that most :immadbro:s me is that CCP themselves ADMIT that a lot of these “arbitrary mechanics are arbitrary” come about because someone gets a :coolidea: and doesn’t really think through the broad-reaching ramifications or subtle implications of various implementations of said :coolidea:. In the end, that just ends badly.

    As far as wardecs go…. yeah. What you DO find in “canonical” EVE lore where capsuleers and specifically the capsuleer-empires-CONCORD/DED relationship is concerned is cloudy and about as self-contradictory as a reading of the Bible start-to-finish, taking every word at face value.

    • Yeah you definitely inspired a lot of people this week. I think that CCP needs to pick a course, and as much as I want the sandbox to be wide open, I still would like there to be enough back-story to provide context, especially in Empire space.

  2. lol Well, I’m not sure about “inspiring”, but thanks. 🙂

    I should go collaborate with Seleene, because he seems to think along similar lines, at least in his CSM-candidacy statements.

    The problem is that if you TRIED to introduce that sort of story element now, people would just balk and go “lolRPtrollolololololGTFO!”

    • Well heck most people ignore it now, but at least there’s something to fall back on when CCP makes a rules change. Just because I ignore the RP element of the game doesn’t mean it goes away.

Leave a Reply

