RMT, the Economy, and YOU

Yesterday Ardent Defender linked a post from the EvE: Online Forums.  I’m going to copy the post here just in case CCP decides to whack it.  It comes from a gent named “Former Scumbag” and talks about his misadventures with RMT.

As I look at my -10 billion ISK wallet and shortly later my banned accounts I’m only a little bit surprised that it happened. I want to start off by saying I will never buy third party ISK again. It’s just like throwing your money down the drain once you get caught — and you probably will these days.

I know this will cause a great deal of many people to post negative comments and I deserve them. My kind are a plague in Eve and overall it’s good that I was banned and my ISK taken out of the Eve economy. So yes, I know I deserve to die, I’m a scumbag, and will always be one, etc. But let me try to make up for what I did by exposing what I did and telling other RMTers who think their method is perfect that it will fail.

First why did I buy ISK via the #1 leading RMT seller (against EULA) instead of just buying a PLEX from CCP (EULA friendly)?

Because I’ve been doing this for a long time without an issues… I was arrogant and a capitalist. I could take the same amount of money that would be required through legal means and end up with twice the amount of ISK. I also hadn’t been caught yet. I’m still a bit perplexed how I was caught, probably on mere suspicion alone. Maybe not.

But I’m done with buying ISK, as I now see CCP is very determined to stamp this out. I suppose I’ll be a good person and work on scamming people for ISK instead of buying PLEX (just kidding – maybe).

tldr; I’m a bad man and if your a bad man you’re going to lose everything.

HOW ISK SELLERS SELL ISK

Normally it works like this:

Option A) ISK selling company uses bots to farm the drone regions. I’ve noticed that they always went for Plush Compound and Glossy Compound. (Market tip here — check what these refine into and realize that they suppressed certain mineral prices)

and/or

Option B) ISK selling company pays other players for ISK at a rate lower than they sell it. I don’t know the details on how it exactly works as I’ve never sold ISK. But I believe the contracted players use minerals or other high value items and transfer them to the ISK selling company.

(Also scamming, hacking accounts, etc so it’s claimed — although I don’t think that’s truly legitimate claim as it would be their supplies very unstable and they’re always stable…)

1) The ISK selling company then sets up a front corporation (the do this on a DAILY basis) with a random boring corp name made by a day old character.

2) Some how they transfer drone alloys, minerals, or moon products to the front corporation.

3) RMTer sends PayPal or Credit Card payment to bad RMT website.

4) The RMTer then is told to apply to join Random Boring Corp Name and to dock at Jita 4-4

5) The ISK selling bad people then purchases X amount of X item as a corporation market order.

6) Once the order is filled they open Deliveries then go to Deliver to Member and select the RMTers name.

7) The RMTer then sells the items at Market Value and quits the corp.

There’s no wallet log of the RMTer getting the items so it’s believed to be the safest way to do it, also their in the same corp so the activity is considered the same.

My specific process would be the above but with these changes for when I bought it:

1) I would create an alt say BobLikesYou33

2) After I received the items from the ISK sellers and sold them at Market I would have a few billion ISK in my wallet

3) I would then purchase high value items with low volume in mass (level 5 implants, PLEXes, etc)

4) I would then randomly give away whatever I had left to scammers in Jita local (to make more links and hopefully hide my true account and maybe get some dirty scammers banned if I got caught trololol)

5) I would buy a shuttle, put a few BILLION of stuff in it.

6) I would login to my main (on a different account) and go to a safe spot in Jita in a pod.

7) I would fleet up with my RMTer alt then have the shuttle with billions of RMT warp to my main.

8) Then the RMTer would leave the shuttle, leave fleet, and my main would board the shuttle and dock it.

9) I would terminate the BobLikesYou33 character

10) I would then wait till it was flushed and make a new BobLikesYou33 character

This was so (or so I thought) there would be no paper trail or if there was CCP wouldn’t look hard enough for it… maybe it would overwrite something in the database. At one point I even had a corporation dedicating to buying ISK with 5 separate accounts to shuffle things through.

WHAT ITEMS DO ISK SELLERS USE?

Glossy Compound, Plush Compound was the old favorite, recently they’ve been changing that as CCP has been banning more people I assume (or maybe in prep for the drone region nerf).

New items: Tritanium, Moon Products, Salvage Products.

I hope this information some how helps CCP fight this and I hope it discourages RMTers from making the same mistake I did… Repent or faceth the ban wave from doom.

There isn’t much new information here that hasn’t been put out in other places before.  This is the first time I’ve seen this much in this kind of detail, and putting it in the EO forums has an extra bit of punch to it.  Some points I’d like to add:

  1. Old skool – Drone Poo being used by RMTers as a vehicle for sending isk.  I feel safe asserting that the drone regions were heavily botted, and this link to the other end of the EULA violating spectrum makes me think that this might be the main reason CCP removed Drone Poo as a drop.
  2. CCP can track a lot more than we think – The trails might be faint and impossible to see on our side, but they exist.  Also this tells me that every petition answered with “The logs show nothing” is a lie.  The logs show something.  What is behind this curtain?
  3. The methodology is heavily dependent on very young characters – Many CEOs are alts.  I’ve used alt CEOs myself a few times.  Forming a new corp with a CEO character should be setting off alarm bells.  It doesn’t take a rocket surgeon to see a character with low SP, low time in game, and large transactions, even if they aren’t for isk.  Presumably CCP has felt the same way, hence their ability to catch more people.  Still it seems odd that it took this long for them to find methods this effective.

Long-term this will affect all of us.  Botting and RMT dying at the same time can really shake up the economy.  Botting going away (and drone minerals going away on top of that) will spike mineral prices.  However it seems that minerals were also used to facilitate RMT.  This would tend to inflate the value of isk, taking that away will cause prices to deflate.  Isk itself will be harder to get, making it more valuable to have.  In theory at least.

I’ve said before that mining needs to be looked at.  If people are going to do it it has to be profitable.  That time is nigh.  Mining is an eminently safe profession in general, as long as you are intelligent about how you do it.  Players want something for their efforts however, and 15-20 million an hour doesn’t cut it when missions are nearly as safe and far, far more interactive and profitable.  If mineral prices continue to go up, we will get more miners doing the work, it will be more profitable and fewer people will PvE by missioning.  This may or may not dilute the need for more minerals, which may or may not result in people choosing to leave mining again.

I think the value of minerals will go up.  I’m not exactly Nostradamus to make that prediction.  I think the value of isk will go up as well.  This is a bit dicier.  I think the isk faucets will go down as a net whole.  That is less isk will enter the game, and will be needed to buy more and more expensive stuff.  I think prices will still go up some, even as the value of isk rises, and this could cause a problem.  People like being able to buy a battleship for only an hour or two of effort.  They like an Abaddon that costs less fully fitted than a new one does now, let alone what it will cost in a week.  Heck they liked the price of Armageddon’s at 59 million a lot more than they like Drakes at 70 million.  This will make people leave the game.  This is not necessarily a bad thing in and of itself, but there needs to be an influx of new players.  I don’t see one on the horizon.  This expansion might be the least successful of all time on the “curves” standard that Ripard Teg has published so widely.  It makes players poorer without offering new riches to offset things.  It draws the economy back, and while it might inconvenience the rich, it will beggar the poorer players.

I'm using it every time I can

About Corelin

An Eve playing Fool who occasionally writes about the shenanigans he and his minions get up to.

Posted on April 17, 2012, in CCP Hijinx, Things You Should Know About. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. One thing worth noting is that while the logs will always show “something”, that something may well just be status quo. When CCP says “the logs show nothing”, what I think they really mean is, “the logs show nothing unusual”.

    • In my experience they use it as a boiler plate to get people to drop petitions they don’t want to deal with. I’ve gotten two ships back by pushing for CCP to tell me what happened because (in the simpler case) a node crashed in a system I was missioning in, not scrammed, and without enough DPS on the field to overcome my tank. The first response was “The logs show nothing” to which I said “Fine, then what killed my ship”

Leave a Reply

