Single Player EvE

Mature Theme Park MMOs start out as largely single-player games where you level through content as fast as you can to the cap, then at the level cap it suddenly turns into a Multiplayer-only experience.  EvE doesn’t force you into this track.  You can join (and possibly even find) productive multiplayer experiences from your first day in EvE.  On the other hand some folks sit in their NPC corps or 1-man tax shelters from the day they start until they give up on the game.

I couldn’t begin to imagine the proportion of these categories among active players, and I doubt they’d make up a major portion of the game, but I also don’t doubt for a second that they make up a bigger portion of the game than new players brought in per month.  This is significant because these people’s contributions to the larger community are practically nonexistent.  They may as well be playing X3.

Events like Hulkageddon shake this tree.  They involve people (admittedly unwillingly) in the larger spectrum of EvE.   Some of them don’t like it, and they leave.  Some of them don’t like it and rage about it on the forums and inspire the more foolish devs to make stupid changes.  Some of them find out that they could have prevented it and it drives their first willing step into the larger EvE community.  Now I’m not naive enough to think that this drives Helicity to do the event, let alone The Mittani, but I also remember when I was a whiny, entitled miner, thinking that EvE owed me a safe and secure space to make my space monies and should otherwise leave me the hell alone.  That attitude is great for X.  It’s bad for EvE.

I'm using it every time I can

About Corelin

An Eve playing Fool who occasionally writes about the shenanigans he and his minions get up to.

Posted on April 26, 2012, in Hulkageddon, Meta. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Actually, I think a lot of them will just keep on keepin’ on. This is Eve after all.

    Before Burning Jita/Hulkageddon – If you undock it, be prepared to lose it.

    During Burning Jita/Hulkageddon – If you undock it, be prepared to lose it.

    After Burning Jita/Hulkageddon – If you undock it, be prepared to lose it.

  2. I am one of the “loners” in Eve. I think there are different kinds of soloists though. I have done my time in different Corps, spent time recruiting, trainings fresh pilots, climbing the Corp ladder and ultimately logging in to do my part to better the Corp as a whole. Now I’m playing Eve the way I like to do it, which is largely solo endeavors. I still have my closest buddies in our own little chat channel, but I haven’t done anything with them in ages.
    I like the fact that people are ganking and making it hard to “afk” play the game though. It weeds out the ones who don’t really have a passion for the game to a certain extent. Now I’m forced to pay attention when I play the game or I might lose my a$$. I think this kind of “forcing” of PVP on everyone in the game is really healthy for the game. Even though I play the game as a soloist, I am always aware that I’m NEVER really solo at all. I was reminded of that last night as a ganker tried (and failed) to suicide gank my Hulk in an ice field.
    So I guess it really doesn’t matter how you play the game, but knowing that you can, and will, be PVPed one way or another is an essential key to surviving in Eve. Also it’s key to a healthy sandbox.

  3. Paranoia is a sane response to an insane situation….
    undocking in EVE puts you right in the thiick of it.
    I love this game. =]

  4. “They involve people (admittedly unwillingly) in the larger spectrum of EvE.” That’s why I like the new war dec changes, our shield is gone and people are forced to play Co-op 🙂

  5. ” I also remember when I was a whiny, entitled miner, thinking that EvE owed me a safe and secure space to make my space monies and should otherwise leave me the hell alone. That attitude is great for X. It’s bad for EvE.”

    I remember those days too…not too fondly now that I look back on them. :-/ I also agree that it’s bad for EVE, well, at least the one we’re “used” to… though of course there’s people who think that more subs, more money for CCP, automatically means “better EVE” and that simply isn’t the case, especially if it means “selling out” the soul of the game to make that more subs, more money goal happen.

Leave a Reply

