The Ego Takes Over

Egos are an important factor in EvE at pretty much any level.  They drive people to do things that might not be terribly well advised whether it’s a corporation, an alliance, a lone pilot, or a blog writer.  Today I’m going to take a look at a few examples of these ill-advised misadventures.  First, being an ego-centric jerk, I’m going to look at myself.

I consider myself a good PvPer.  Not a great one, and I’ve done pretty well at solo PvP.  A little while ago I had a failfit daredevil I wanted to lose.  And I did.  This was actually a REALLY good fight that I wish I’d frapsed.  I yo-yod in an out several times trying to find a sweet spot where I could get damage on him without getting blapped but in the end he managed to tag me and I lost the ship.  Deciding that I should show this upstart how it was done.  And I didn’t.  While I managed to pop his retriever, my tail was FIRMLY tucked between my legs.  I almost brought back a sentinel, which I’m quite sure would have ruined his day, but decided I couldn’t look at myself in the mirror if I lost that too.  Here my ego drove me to two mistakes.  The first was to go back in a rifter against a ship that was pretty much made to butcher frigates.  He easily has several times my tank, and enough DPS to kill me if he can catch me and I was sloppy enough to let him catch me, then I knew exactly the ship to bring to get some revenge and I neglected to offer battle, even with success nearly assured with the ship I had in the wings.  A cruor would have been even more fun come to think of it.

At the corp level, well, where to start.  Again I’ll pick on my own corp.  Fancy Hats currently has 13 people, of whom 12 have been active in the last week, with 9 contributing kills.  Percentage wise that’s fucking fantastic.  Of course one is a temporary alt, and another one will probably leave soon after Hulkageddon ends.  So really we have 11, 9, and 8.  Like many other corps we have dreams and aspirations.  We want to find a home, be it in low or nullsec.  The easiest way would of course be to find an established corp that’s recruiting and just go.  However we’ve gotten attached to our little kingdom.  We are proud of its accomplishments and its unrealized potential.  It does cost us.  There have been opportunities we have flat out missed.  Invitations we simply haven’t taken because we want to stay under our own flag.  For example we’d love the chance to fly with a AA or AAA alliance in null or low, shake things up a bit and really dig into the big picture experience of EvE.  We threw out some feelers and ended up in S I L E N T..  That ended… Poorly.  had some fun, met some good people but the alliance just fell apart.

Now not all of that is ego.  Some of it is us wanting to challenge the odds and show that we do have the chops to contribute to a major alliance.  However we could do some real damage other ways and make our mark, choosing to do it this way is as much me wanting to keep Fancy Hats going as my leadership saying “LET’S DO THIS!”

Alliances.  Old-School CVA.  Thinking the game revolved around them, bringing in the sick the poor, the downtrodden, and getting them trod on again.  Their high-handedness with their allies and their assumption that the stars would line up for them and their concept of how the narrative of EvE would play out in their favor resulted in countless losses for their pilots and allies.  The new leadership put a thorough cleansing on the whole edifice of the alliance and seems to have gotten the fires out and the ship righted, but it has been a long and painful process.

Finally blogs, the meta game, what have you.  Everyone knows I will pick Mittens, so I wont.  Instead I’ll pick on Roc Wieler. Go ahead and hit his site if you have a few hours to read and try to find something with more than a whispy, tenuous connection to EvE.  He usually has 1 a month that a dedicated EvE player could figure out is EvE related.  For a post that is actually ABOUT EvE you have to go back to around October.  OCTOBER.  LAST YEAR PEOPLE.  If I wanted a fitness blog he’d be fantastic, he really does come up with some decent workouts.  He’s not an EvE blogger anymore.  He hasn’t been for a long time and he clogs up the feeds with his rambling rules, “In-character” posts that have nothing to do with events in the game (as opposed to the excellent posts Mike Azariah does over at A Missioner in EvE.  Roc’s blog has devolved in smug ego-stroking that only becomes more and more annoying with every post and major announcement.  When he ran Capsuleer it was fantastic, a huge contribution to the community and his blog posts talked about things in the game.  Now?  It’s been more than 6 months since he posted something that a casual reader would know was about EvE.  Yet he keeps going, calling it an EvE blog.

All of these are cases of Ego.  Some hurt the player, some hurt many, and some really don’t affect many people at all.  Ego is a factor.  If your recognize your own you can figure out when you are making a mistake and adjust your plan.  Self-knowledge is an important part of your toolkit in a game as cutthroat as EvE.  Bringing this to the table will help you win the fights you need to win.

I’m using it every time I can

About Corelin

An Eve playing Fool who occasionally writes about the shenanigans he and his minions get up to.

Posted on May 2, 2012, in Meta, Things I think I think. Bookmark the permalink. 19 Comments.

  1. Completely agree on Roc Wieler. Is hug blog still part of the EVE blog pack? If so, that’s nonsense.

  2. I agree about that Roc Wieler guy. I mean how DARE he grow and evolve in his life? Sure, he’s expanded his blog to include things other than a virtual world, things his readers find interesting, but the nerve! He needs to stay stuck as a one dimensional character and swing his ePeen around about the size of his killboard like most other EVE bloggers. There should be no room for the roleplay of a Matar Colonel within a science fiction game.

    Of course, I will admit, I am not as consistent with my ingame playing of EVE as I would like to be, but I do stay involved in the community forums, with my alliance forums, login 2 – 3 times per week, and try to keep abreast of what’s going on.

    Is my blog relevant for just EVE? Probably not. It’s been a good while, as you mentioned, since I’ve been posting daily about EVE, but know what? I’m ok with that.

    Is it ego driven? Hell, you chose me over Mittens. That makes my day. Is it purely ego driven? I’m going to say no. I have very loyal fans. In fact, that’s how I found out about this post.

    Besides, as is said in one of Roc’s many rules, haters are just fans that don’t realize it yet, so thanks for being a fan.

    • Or fans you’ve lost through your history and actions. Although like I said the workouts are great.

      • Not sure I understand. My blog consistently gets a high volume of views, the majority of them from the same readers I’ve had for years. If you look through my historic comments, you can see this is true of those that choose to speak out on my blog as well.

        As for my history and actions, I have remained consistent throughout my entire time in EVE. I think that is one of my many appeals. Solid as a Roc.

        I can’t fight your opinion. It’s your opinion. I just don’t really know how you feel empowered to dictate how my EVE experience should be, or how it should be relayed to my audience.

        Thanks about the workouts.

      • Well to show that I’m right, I’m not worried about your EvE experience. I could care less about it. My issue is how you affect other people and their EvE experience. you sit on the EvE block pack despite barely touching the game in your blog in the most tangential manner possible. Not entirely your fault, because the admin could choose to remove you, however you eventually have to look at it as a privilege and a responsibility. You have to ask “What am I adding to other people’s EvE experience?”

      • My answer to that would be six EVE inspired music albums and eve artowrk. How about you?

      • Articles written about… iono… EvE?

      • I see. So in your estimation, the countless hours I spend providing EVE related content to players doesn’t equate to the same amount as when I did all of that, and Capsuleer, and wrote daily about EVE in my blog, or the fact that you do just do one of those things? Got it.

      • Music, that we get to pay you for. Art. Workouts. Smug sayings. That you will set up a system for us to pay you for.

        vs.

        Articles about EvE. Guides for playing EvE better. News reports on EvE. Comments on the social culture of EvE as far as Rape Culture and general misogyny. Calling CCP on its BS in EvE. See a theme?

      • 1. Pssst http://soundcloud.com/roc-wieler has free Roc music
        2. Yeah, I’ve been playing for gits and shiggles, but I do understand the point about the EVE Blog Pack. My thought is that does writing an ordinary blog, about fitness, recipes, music, etc, in character, still qualify as an EVE Blog? Some might say it does as it still relates to EVE, but is it the same as someone who offers guides to the game like you can find dozens of on Google? Some would say no. For the record, I do have a few guides on my blog and have actually being recording video for a 3D work in EVE series that I think many players will find useful, but according to Corelin, none of this matters.

        I have no problem with my blog. Or his. I think my content is fine for the Blog Pack, as well as the quality of the writing therein. I also think part of it is that the Blog Pack seems to have lost some of its muster over the last little while, and maybe that is reflective of the EVE Blogging community as a whole. Rixx Javix isn’t as active, David Perry is pretty much gone – seems a lot of EVE blogs have grown or disappeared to be replaced with ones like this.

        Shame.

      • Now I may be a moron and terrible PvPer, Core … but I do know there’s more ways to contribute to the EVE community besides :words:. Roc contributes music and art — that may not be meaningful to _you_ personally, but then again our “ebil PvP ways” aren’t meaningful to most carebears either (excepting perhaps as an inconvenience and irritant). I guess it’s all a matter of perspective.

      • Sorry I can’t speak for his music, as I’m not going to pay for it, as for “Art” looking at pictures of Roc doesn’t impress me. I’m not wired that way. Rettic contributed EvE themed and, often derived music. He also gave it away as his contribution to the community. Roc thinks we should pay to be blessed with his brilliance.

  3. I think both you egomaniacs are missing the point. Whether it’s on purpose or not, only you two can say.

    This is not about the worthiness or goodness of Roc’s blog in and of itself. In those terms, it’s just fine. Could it be better? I dunno, maybe, maybe not, Roc I suppose you do your best as you see fit to give it what you want in the best manner you can. No more would – or should _anyone_ – as of any blogger. Otherwise speaking, it’s purely subject at the particular blogger’s whim.

    The point that I originally took away from Corelin – and as he sometimes often has a hard time properly explaining further 8-P – is a question of whether or not that particular blog brings anything to the seminal EvE Blog Pack … i.e. that group of blogs which is about EvE _in particular_ and _in detail._

    To question the presence of a blog that is a general interest (of the writer) blog that only occasionally touches upon the key topic is not to question the value of the blog itself for what it is or of the blogger or his contributions, whatever they may be. Iit is instead to question its validity as it relates _specifically_ to EvE itself, which is what the publications on this particular Blog Pack are supposedly and primarily propounding on.

    I suggest factoring OUT the egos and the nonessential noise they bring, so you can answer a reasonable and worthwhile point instead.

  4. Having followed Roc’s blogging for 3 years and following Corelin’s for about 15 minutes, I have a few thoughts.

    Roc is an artist, gamer, workout guru and dedicated blogger. He has contributed a great amount to the EvE community for years and I’ve been using his workouts at my Air Force physical training sessions. My officers and enlisted in my squadron love the workouts. As for his Eve contributions…they’ve been invaluable.

    Corelin on the other hand has posted a rather inexperienced PvP post coupled with an attention-seeking stab at a loved figure in the Eve blogging community. I definately won’t be returning to this blog as its author is rather immature and will probably amount to little unless he grows up.

    Corelin, if you want to get in the blog back, which you obviously want to do as you are so interested in degrading those in its ranks, I suggest you focus on good posting…not a whole bunch of bitching.

    Tib

  5. I can’t get behind bashing on Roc. Obviously he’s an attention seeker … but we all write blogs, so we all seek attention in various ways. Is Roc’s blog worth while reading for myself? Not really, but I’m not gonna bag on the guy.

    I did head over to read a post a few weeks ago, I think it had a title about mentoring someone … I thought it was referring to him mentoring someone in game … but after a couple of confused paragraphs realized it had nothing at all to do with EVE. I was mildly annoyed and wondered why he just didn’t run a separate non-EVE blog … but I guess there are workout dudes in EVE as well, and Roc provides a valuable service to them outside the game.

    I do not know what Capsuleer is, so cannot comment.

    I have enjoyed some of Roc’s EVE music. He’s obviously musically talented.

    I guess all I’m saying is that Roc is harmless is his egotism. He doesn’t harm the game. He doesn’t harm anyone’s play experience. If anything, he’s enhanced a lot of experiences.

    Does Roc still deserve to be in the Blog Pack? Sure, if for no other reason than he has a lot of EVE fans who read his blog, EVE related or not. For the time being at any rate. One day Marc may decide otherwise.

    I get riled up with egos that I feel are damaging to the game or the game experience. (Kelduum Revaan! CCP Greyscale!). Roc, though? Dude’s harmless. He’s improved the quality of the game for a lot of people, and not made it worse for anyone.

    I like you Corelin. You’re a good guy. But you’re on the wrong road here with Roc.

  6. I have been reading these geeky blogs for a while now and tbh I skip past roc’s, if I wanted to read about gym workouts I would look for them, I want to read about eve which is why I subscribe to the blog pack.

    I think in the past he may well have contributed, but does that mean he sits on the blog pack forever?

Leave a Reply

