Harry the King

Partial transcript from the final meeting before the Caldari Tier V push (roughly, with apologies to Mjolnir Gost, Mord Fiddle, and Billy the Bard)

  • Mjolnir Gost:  O that we now had here
    But one ten thousand of those men in Jita
    That do no pvp to-day!
  • Corelin:  What’s he that wishes so?
    My lord Mjolnir? No, my dread leader:
    If we are mark’d to die, we are enow
    To do our militia loss; and if to live,
    The fewer men, the greater share of LP loot.
    God’s will! I pray thee, wish not one man more.
    By Chribba, I am not covetous for gold,
    Nor care I who doth feed upon my cost;
    It yearns me not if men my garments wear;
    Such outward things dwell not in my desires:
    But if it be a sin to covet LP loot,
    I am the most offending soul alive.
    No, faith, my coz, wish not a man from Jita:
    God’s peace! I would not lose so great an LP loot share
    As one man more, methinks, would share from me
    For the best hope I have. O, do not wish one more!
    Rather proclaim it, Mjolnir, through my host,
    That he which hath no stomach to this fight,
    Let him depart; we’ll kick him from alliance
    And jeer and grief him out of militia:
    We would not share our LP loot with he
    That fears his fellowship to die with us.

More paraphrasing.  Interpretationally.  But I think I get the point across.  LP dumps require a lot of people working together.  The downside of this is a lot of people are out there spending LP all at once so the markets tend to look like a scenic landscape.  Namely a cliff.  I know, I know, it’s crocodile tears, I stand to make well over 9500 isk / LP and if the markets rebound a bit over the next few days it will be more than 10000.  Either way I’ll be quite happy.

There is a problem however.  One of the items I was looking at was trading at 201/191k isk the morning of the dump.  Last I checked it was at 130/110k.  While either one represents a simply MASSIVE amount of isk for me, especially considering the effort involved, it’s rather disheartening.  The boom and bust of FW LP store items can be astounding, and it all ties in to the factors in FW that have already been discussed to death.  There’s no incentive to D-plex.  Holding higher tiers in  systems, especially non-station systems is so hard relative to the reward involved that it’s a joke.  Rebuilding warzone control from 1 to 5 can be done in minutes if you control enough systems.  Having possession of systems is more important than their upgrade status by far, and really the ideal state of possession is “held by the opposing faction but so deep in “VULNERABLE” that they could d-plex it for a week and not bring it up.  All it takes is a bunker bust and the thing flops the next downtime.

This is why, when someone asked how to quit militia in militia chat I just told him and waved him out the door.  I don’t want him here, farming LP and glutting up the market.  I don’t want him sharing in the profits, be it LP or Honor.  I don’t want him running around potentially busting up opsec and spilling the beans on our plans.  I want my isk even if it means being the most offending man alive.  That’s not really a good thing.  There’s plenty of new folks wanting to get into faction warfare, but the sense among the vets is “If you are young you are a spai”  or “oh great another button orbiting noob bringing an abomination to fleets.”  Neither of these are good things of course, but not being willing to help new players breaks down part of the fabric of EvE; and I didn’t mention the real reason these guys never get a chance.

The real chance is:

God’s peace! I would not lose so great an LP loot share
As one man more, methinks, would share from me

Fly dangerous.  Watch out for the fucking Incursion rats popping frigates in low.

I’m using it every time I can

About Corelin

An Eve playing Fool who occasionally writes about the shenanigans he and his minions get up to.

Posted on August 27, 2012, in Faction Warfare, Politics, PvP. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. What could you possible be selling that nets 9500ISK/LP? The best I found was datacores, which net 7500ISK/LP, but then nobody really buys those in quantity because of the clickfest.

    Send me a private message. I’m very curious. I’ve been charting quite a few of the LP store items, and have found nothing that beats 7500ISK/LP.

Leave a Reply

