Armageddon is coming

So I’ve been fiddling with the new ‘Geddon since patch day, trying to find something I like and I think I’ve found it.  The ‘Geddon received some changes in Odyssey, which is kind of like saying rifles have changed since the Civil War.  Instead of being a close range brawling, DPS oriented gankboat of a battleship, it is now a utility boat, offering good DPS with drones and missiles, a fantastic neuting bonus, and a bit of fitting problems.  Here’s what I came up with.

[Armageddon, mini bhaal]

2x Heavy Unstable Power Fluctuator I
5x Torpedo Launcher II (Scourge Javelin Torpedo)

Prototype 100MN Microwarpdrive I
Heavy Electrochemical Capacitor Booster I (Navy Cap Booster 400)
Stasis Webifier II
Warp Disruptor II

2x 1600mm Reinforced Steel Plates II
2x Energized Adaptive Nano Membrane II
Damage Control II
Drone Damage Amplifier II
Co-Processor II

Large Processor Overclocking Unit I
2x Large Trimark Armor Pump I

5x Ogre II

CCP did the ship a favor when they let it fit missiles.  Torps have received enough upgrades that I actually like them quite a bit now, especially if you can get a couple of these ships together to combine their webs on a target.  In addition, without a weapon bonus there’s a lot of incentive to fit Torps or Projectiles, allowing the ship to focus its cap on maneuver and cap warfare.   This gives it a nice advantage that it can do both of its jobs at once, and take an absolute pounding while doing it.

With Javelins it hits for 812 damage out to 25km, with Rage torps it hits for up to 990 overloaded.  It also provides very good neuting if you pulse the MWD, allowing it to operate for as long as you can keep up with the cap booster.  It won’t be the easiest ship to fly, but with 126k ehp, good damage, and good neuting it will certainly not be a fun ship to fly against either.  The one weakness of the fit is the EXP hole.  I’ve looked at fitting other pieces to patch it, but I think with a buffer this big I’ll just let it ride.

I'm using it every time I can

I’m using it every time I can

About Corelin

An Eve playing Fool who occasionally writes about the shenanigans he and his minions get up to.

Posted on June 13, 2013, in PvP, Shipyard. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Another odd thing with the recent changes: you can fit cruise missiles to the Armageddon and it might actually be even tougher. And nastier.

    =====
    [Armageddon, Corelin’s Mini Bhaalgorn (T2 cruise)]
    Internal Force Field Array I
    Drone Damage Amplifier II
    Drone Damage Amplifier II
    Energized Adaptive Nano Membrane II
    Energized Adaptive Nano Membrane II
    1600mm Reinforced Rolled Tungsten Plates I
    1600mm Reinforced Rolled Tungsten Plates I

    Prototype 100MN Microwarpdrive I
    Heavy Electrochemical Capacitor Booster I, Cap Booster 800
    Fleeting Propulsion Inhibitor I
    Faint Warp Disruptor I

    Cruise Missile Launcher II, Inferno Fury Cruise Missile
    Cruise Missile Launcher II, Inferno Fury Cruise Missile
    Cruise Missile Launcher II, Inferno Fury Cruise Missile
    Cruise Missile Launcher II, Inferno Fury Cruise Missile
    Cruise Missile Launcher II, Inferno Fury Cruise Missile
    Heavy Unstable Power Fluctuator I
    Heavy Unstable Power Fluctuator I

    Large Trimark Armor Pump I
    Large Trimark Armor Pump I
    Large Trimark Armor Pump I

    Garde II x5
    Ogre II x5
    =====
    I did something stupid last night in a fit with a similar tank, and I was able to hold out for almost ten minutes before the inevitable happened. Properly supported, the new ‘Geddon can be an absolute monster.

  2. One EANM and one explo hardener or a RAH is better with links

Leave a Reply

