EvE is a Spectator Sport

So if you haven’t heard, there’s a book project on Kickstarter for a book on the history of the major players of EvE Online.  600 people have backed it already, with an average funding of about $22 each.  He’s already beaten his funding goal of $12,500.  Oh and it’s been going for about 8 hours.  Some heavy hitters have already backed it, Mynxee drew my attention to it and it continues to draw attention and support.  I rather suspect TheMittani.com will have a post on it soon and that will bring even more attention.  And filthy lucre.

The first thing I thought after backing it was “I haven’t played EvE in a month.  Why did I just back a book about it” and I realized something that I’ve known in the back of my head for a while.  EvE is a spectator sport.  I love baseball, I play softball.  I love reading.  My writing is a trial.  I love the drama and heights of EvE, but I’m not temperamentally fit to  climb those heights and battle in the arenas that are most interesting to me.  But by god I’ll throw down my hard earned cash to read about the people that do have what it takes.

CCP has created as their main, and only really profitable product, a game that is more entertaining to watch than it is to play for most of even its target audience.  Whether you enjoy the e-sport format of the tournaments, the news sources and outlets, or are eagerly anticipating the new book it seems like a lot of the best parts of EvE simply aren’t in-game anymore.  The problem with this is that CCP doesn’t control the news sources, or the new book.  They do have the graphic novel and apparently some kind of series that will come about because of this, but they need to get ahead of this cart.  They can’t let too many opportunities to make money off this game now that WoD is dead as a doornail.

Just my 2 cents.  I don’t deal in Isk anymore.

I'm using it every time I can

I’m using it every time I can

About Corelin

An Eve playing Fool who occasionally writes about the shenanigans he and his minions get up to.

Posted on April 24, 2014, in Things I think I think, Things You Should Know About. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Kethry Avenger

    I certainly have more time to read, watch, and listen to stuff about EVE than I have time to play it.

    I really need to see if there is a good way to play EVE in 30-60 minute sessions that interest me. I don’t have the 2-4 hour time blocks I used to to play the way I used to anymore and for a long time actually.

  2. Dinsdale Pirannha

    Imagine how many people, who feel the same way about 30-60 minute sessions , will quit the game when missioning is converted into pretty much mandatory group work. And read the various forum comments by the devs and cartel propagandists. That is coming.

  3. So basically CCP has created a game where the meta-game is so strong, it actually “wags the dog” of the _actual_ game.
    tl;dr: “The best way to play EVE, is not to play EVE.” >:-D

Leave a Reply

