Well That’s a Big Hole to Fill

Ripard Teg has laid down his pen.  Wow.  I have logged into EvE all of three times in the last month but I have kept abreast of the news and this has been huge, and bigger than some people realize.  The EvE blogging community is not as big as it once was, having been largely supplanted by sites like EN24 and TM.com, and many of the big names in the blogging community aren’t active, or aren’t doing a whole lot these days.  Part of the reason is traffic is down.  There used to be sites that would direct readers to blogs, like the old EvE Blog Pack, or Evebloggers (which seems to be kinda back) which could help a fledgling blog get some traffic.  Now you can pimp yourself on Reddit or hope for some publicity from forums or search engines, but there isn’t a lot of incentive to crank out a couple thousand words a week if only 4 people read them (and one is Bex who convos you in game to explain the big words).

Ripard had become the biggest supplier of hits to my site (after Reddit) by a long shot.  He represented nearly 1/3 of my incoming traffic over the last year, not counting Reddit.  His removal at a blow takes the dead center of the blogging community and removes it.  Now the structure is missing it’s strongest pillar and I wonder how long it will be before the roof caves in.  Independent bloggers don’t always add a lot, but their voice, and their unique bias makes them valuable.

And I haven’t even talked about Ripard’s voice.  He was the most prolific, the widest reaching, the most successful, and the 2nd most insightful blogger out there.  Mord Fiddle gets #1 there.  His voice on EN24 gave Riverini a real heavy stick to use to convince people that EN24 was a real deal.  Certainly far more credibility than I ever lent him, or Poetic (who I do hold in high regard).  If I had to make a top 10 or top 50 list of influential or must-read EvE posts my first question would be “How many Jester’s Trek posts can I use” because the top 10 would be JT and Fiddler’s Edge and the top 50 would have maybe 10 from other sources.  Most notably Evoganda, Mabrick’s Mumblings, @gamerchick42, and Nosy Gamer out of the current group.

Ripard Teg owes us nothing.  He has given freely of his time, of his insight and of his prolific writing to the entire community and he has made EvE a better game by his efforts.  Still and all it will be a lesser game, and blogging a lesser community for his absence.  I hope the bug bites him again, and I will now go off in search of a new default “What’s up in EvE today” blog.

I'm using it every time I can

I’m using it every time I can

 

About Corelin

An Eve playing Fool who occasionally writes about the shenanigans he and his minions get up to.

Posted on June 1, 2014, in Meta, Things You Should Know About. Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. Dinsdale Pirannha

    It is a sad sad day. As for the toxicity he talks about in his last blog, go read some of the comments in the Eve forum thread I started.
    I am more guilty than most of toxic posts over the past years, but there are so many in the Eve community that go far beyond the pale.

  2. Alternatives for sources of blogs

    http://evebloggers.com/ , run by CSM10 Steve Ronuken
    http://foo-eve.blogspot.com.au/ , run by me
    https://sites.google.com/site/newedensource/ , run by CSM10 Sugar Kyle

  3. I’m pretty sure the blogging community is more healthy than it was when I started in 2009. I remember not so long ago Ripard blogging about not being able to find a single carebear blog – there are loads now.

    Ripard’s certainly a big loss but neither Eve nor blogging is dying.

    • I don’t think it’s dying, but I think it’s not as easy as it once was to find nodes where you can find new material or have your own stuff put out there.

  4. You also have 210 subscribers reading you via feedly.

    To put this number into context, Jester’s trek has 926 subscriptions and I have 101 subscribers.

    These numbers will rarely show on blog stats that a website author can see, as the post is read once, and cached on the feedly servers.

Leave a Reply

